News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Maybe dumb q from newbie about shaping wheels

Started by Naf, January 02, 2022, 06:45:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Naf

Tormek newbie here... not newbie sharpener.   Like on manual guided systems (EP/K03) when you put in half inch stone for recurves... if you want have narrow Tormek stone wheel, how you achieve this? (Aware of radius CBN wheel from KGau... not opposed to in future maybe) What I mean is, take standard stone comes with T, have not measured it but, do you maybe take sharpie and mark the centermost half inch (so not modify this area), then dress in radii (???) with... what, a chunk of concrete, a$200 diamond plate, a ~$60 dressing tip on end of screwdriver looking thing.   I'm being quite serious here. First post, but have searched/ read many your posts trying find answers some questions. Have seen some recurve topics, but can't dance knives on edges of wheels with dexterity issues. Seeking something more like what used to I guess. Seems like T should maybe offer thinner rounded wheel for this but can't find one, so seems possible making one for purpose. Want same radius both sides, so grader seems inaccurate.  Use truing tool only on outer edges, incrementally, both directions... not gonna get identical this way either but I probably get closer match than with grader. First few knives should round rough edge s if make them close enough would think?  What think you about this? Can't afford screw sh>t all up, that for sure. If you aware of tool do this with or alternative products, can include links please?

cbwx34

Quote from: Naf on January 02, 2022, 06:45:01 PM