News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Tormek for primary bevels

Started by BrianB, July 17, 2020, 04:07:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrianB

Howdy folks. Thanks for letting me join the forum.

I'm considering adding a Tormek to my shop. I'm a woodworker. I am looking at the Tormek for regrinding primary bevels on chisels and plane irons. I will not use it for actual honing.  I am quite happy and efficient with honing on my waterstones.  As you know, after a while,  microbevels grow pretty large and the primary bevels needs to be reground. I have been doing this on a diamond plate but it is very slow going, and I don't want to put the wear on my diamond plate.

For this purpose only, primary bevels, I am trying to decide if the Tormek is a better machine than a slow speed grinder with an 80 grit CBN wheel.

After a lot of research I have the following concerns:
Even with the square edge jig, it can be fiddly to get a square edge on the Tormek
Tormek stone needs to be dressed, requiring a $100 tool on top of the kit
Some say the Tormek takes a very long time to regrind a primary bevel, say on a 2 3/8" wide plane iron
It seems like a very expensive overkill for use only to grind primary bevels

I have used a slow grinder with CBN wheel at a friend's shop to do a few primary bevels on plane irons as a test.  I found it very easy to get a square edge, quickly, without burning the steel.  Obviously some Kentucky windage and a light touch are required.  To me it seems the only advantage to the Tormek for me would be that there is no chance of burning the steel.