News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Newbie saying hello.

Started by Keith B., April 29, 2020, 07:39:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keith B.

Hi all,

Been lurking for a while. New T4 Bushcraft on the way. No extra wheels, no extra jigs....although I did buy a neodymium magnet to replicate the metal removal from the wheel of the T8. Looking forward to honing my skills on this machine.

I am a knifemaker hobbyist and, if I'm being brutally honest, I move in and out of the hobby regularly!  I have created some beautiful knives, but, like others, I dread the sharpening.  I have tried (and own) so many systems. The latest is my KME system, which works very well and does get my knives very, very sharp, but it takes sooooooo long. 

So, I'm hoping the new toy cuts my sharpening time down and allows me to not dread shrapening the long knives!

Thanks,

Keith

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, Keith.

When you say "sharpen" do you mean restoring a sharp edge or creating and sharpening bevels? (Sorry, I am not a knifemaker.)

Ken

RickKrung

If you mean creating a complete bevel, you may be disappointed.  Standard stone can take a long time.  There are many ways to speed that up, a slow speed belt grinder being one of the best, in my opinion.  I tried a medium speed bench grinder with the white grit wheels.  Works well but I found it still hard to control the heat.  My favorite, prior to getting a variable speed Viel belt grinder was a traditional 80 grit Norton 3X grindstone fitted with a bushing to fit on the Tormek.  It is 8" and would fit nicely on a T4.  Run wet, just like other grindstones on the Tormek. 

Do some searching here.  Lots of alternatives discussed. 

Rick