News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

New Tormek LED lamp

Started by stevebot, June 01, 2015, 05:25:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken S

Steve, I second that hope. One of the demographics of Tormek users is that our eyes get a day older every day. Also, hopefully, with the passage of time our expectations become higher. We need very good light to meet these expectations.

Ken

Herman Trivilino

Quote from: Rob on June 09, 2015, 05:16:58 PM
Have you any light to shed on ceramic "steels" Herman?  I've mentioned this before with my global knives.

I recall that, and I have since then had in the back of my mind a desire for a ceramic. Also perhaps a ceramic knife, but that's another discussion. Anyway, no I have no experience with the ceramic "steel".

QuoteI used the T7 to put a proper edge on my chefs knife some time ago and went very carefully, fully jigged etc. Then I started using a regular steel to just tickle the edge back before each use.  That worked really well for several months and then one day it nicked the blade and when I looked closely, the blade had a really sloppy raggy edge.  I think the steel had been folding, folding, folding until eventually it seemed to almost leave a burr like edge which was very untidy (although due to its tooth it did still slice quite well).

Well said. My observations at 40X magnification seem to support that assessment well.
Origin: Big Bang

Rob

Hmm

I'm intrigued to learn what's happening at the coalface with a ceramic "steel" vs the less than ideal edge left by a traditional steel.  In use, the ceramic really feels like it's cutting better.  There is a pleasant resistance to the edge as you pull the knife over the tool.  I'd really like to get a closer look at what its doing to the edge.