News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Wheel for the BGM-100

Started by Ken S, July 17, 2011, 12:54:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken S

I had an unusual situation this week.  The ends of my lawn mower blade were rubbing against the side of the mower.  I'm no expert mechanic.  I ground off a little over 1/8" from each end, put the mower back together, and it worked fine.

This only relates to this site because of the wheel on my grinder.  I use a Norton 3X 46 grit wheel.  It runs cool and cuts very quickly.  I don't use the dry grinder anymore for sharpening; that's the domain of the Tormek.  So, the general advice of an 80 grit wheel doesn't seem to fit. 

If I was going to shape turning tools with my dry grinder, The Norton 46 grit stone would seem (in my opinion) the ideal stone.  It would be very fast.  Used lightly, it should be controllable, also.

The original application for my choice of this wheel was grinding off the mushroom from a couple splitting wedges.  The gray wheel was slow.  The 3X 46 grit did the job quickly.

Comments?

Ken

Steve Brown

Rob Cosman takes a Lie-Nielsen plane out of the box and sharpens the blade in 30 seconds. He uses 3 ceramic stones, last one 30,000 grit. He makes a shaving of half a thousandth.
"Rob Cosman Sharpening Plane Blades" on YouTube. If you've see it, care to comment?
Steve

Ken S

Steve,