News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Help a Newbie

Started by Adam1630, March 21, 2022, 09:12:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adam1630

I'm brand new to this and am struggling to interpret the manual with the correct settings for the WM200. I'm sharpening Global kitchen knives and am trying to achieve the Global stated angle of between 10 and 15 degrees, I've selected 14 degrees to start with. Reading the manual as far as Tormek goes this means an edge of 28 degrees, which means I set the diameter of my wheel to 200 and the angle to 14 degrees, is that correct?

Oh and another question, I read on here that we should never use the Japanese Water wheel with the rotation towards to knife blade, yet the Tormek videos I've seen show the wheel being used in exactly this manner, any explanation would be helpful

Thanks

tgbto

Hello Adam,

You're correct with regard to using the WM-200. For your desired 14dps, you would have to set it to 28 degrees if you were able to rest it against the bevel, so it would have to be a really wide bevel (such as on some hunting knives for instance). As you are probably resting it against the flat of the blade, because global knives mostly have quite narrow bevels, you will need to use a 14 degrees setting.

Be aware that for tapered knives (ie knives with a thick blade at the spine that gets thinner at the edge), the WM-200 will throw you off a couple of degrees. To set a precise/given angle, you'd have to use a calculator and measure the distance between the top of the USB and the wheel. You could also use the sharpie method described in the manual if you want to replicate the factory angle.