News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Upgrade of Tormek ST-250 with BGM-100 stay and new stone

Started by Anders1965, February 17, 2021, 12:17:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Anders1965

I have plans to upgrade my old drill-driven ST-250 with the upgrade BGM-100. I plan to mount it vertical on the frame, by using a L-bracket. Anyone with experience in this way of upgrading?(See pic Tormek ST-250-2)
I also want to change the old Gotland sand stone that is the original from 1974.  Is it possible to use the new axle MSK-250 for upgrading ST-250?   

RickKrung

Anders1965.  Welcome to the forum.  What a great year - the year I graduated from high school. 

Very curious old machine.  Good luck.

If you mount the BGM vertically with an "L" bracket, are the legs going to project below the front surface?  Seems they would have to and if so, why not just mount the BGM on the front face of the machine case?  Or, given there is no motor inside the case, is there lots of room such that you can drill holes in the top of the case for the legs to project through?  If that is the case, what about adding a BGM, vertically on an back of the machine so you have the benefits of the vertical USB position as well? 

Rick
Quality is like buying oats.  If you want nice, clean, fresh oats, you must pay a fair price. However, if you can be satisfied with oats that have already been through the horse, that comes at a lower price.

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, Anders.

The MSK-250 should fit. I suggest you email Tormek support. (support@tormek.se). They are experienced experts with older Tormeks and very helpful.

Keep us posted!

Ken

Anders1965

Thanks a lot for the advice!