News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Tormek T-4 knife sharpening question for beginner

Started by Alihussein8, June 27, 2020, 02:59:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alihussein8

Hello all!

So i am new to the Tormek community and to the machine. i have watched almost every video on youtube on how to sharpen knives. with me its a hit or miss when sharpening, some are razor sharp, and others are as if i didnt do anything. with that being said do you guys have any tips for beginner sharpening? one of the problems ive been having is when knife sharpening my knife tends to get dragged by the wheel. i had two get snagged. and every other video ive watched they make it look effortless. sorry for the long message but any help is much appreciated!

cbwx34

Quote from: Alihussein8 on June 27, 2020, 02:59:32 AM
Hello all!

So i am new to the Tormek community and to the machine. i have watched almost every video on youtube on how to sharpen knives. with me its a hit or miss when sharpening, some are razor sharp, and others are as if i didnt do anything. with that being said do you guys have any tips for beginner sharpening? one of the problems ive been having is when knife sharpening my knife tends to get dragged by the wheel. i had two get snagged. and every other video ive watched they make it look effortless. sorry for the long message but any help is much appreciated!

I'll refer to this video, to help answer your questions...

https://youtu.be/R2ifZQOJA7k

For the knife catching, I have two thoughts.  One is there's a chip or something in the stone that is catching the knife.  Consider using the Stone Grader (fine) for a few seconds to make sure the stone is relatively smooth.  Also, slightly round the edges, as explained around 16:25 in the video.