News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Newbie questions about the Stone Grader SP-650

Started by Hatchcanyon, May 05, 2016, 05:11:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hatchcanyon

I'm relatively new with the Tormek T-7. My wife started turning some month ago, asked me after some time for help sharpening the tools. There was a set of Japanese water stones from grid 120 to 8000 but these are in my opinion not very effective with turning tools. The simple bench grinder did more harm than good.

Then wo got a T-7 with the standard grindstone. Learning that this might not be the best stone for HSS steel we bought an additional SB-250. Works very well.

But it seems to influence the Stone Grader. After some uses - 5 to 8 times maybe - on the SB the Grader becomes quite slick, doesn't do a good job on reactivating the stone. A closer look showed a modification of the Graders surface. In the middle the grains are flattened reflecting light while the grain more to the end are still coarse.

The middle of the stone shows flattened grains

Magnified

What is going wrong and how can I get the SB stone back to a fresh fast cutting surface without truing?

Thanks for any help and advice.
Rolf
German with a second home in the American Southwestern Desert - loves Old England too.

Ken S

Excellent question!

Welcome to the forum, Rolf. You are not alone. I am dealing with the same problem.I ordered a replacement stone grader. That cures the symptom, however, it doesn't really solve the problem. I think we need some high powered help from Sweden.