News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Any possibility for a larger drill bit holder?

Started by Papa Woody, September 19, 2015, 02:18:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Papa Woody

I have a DBS-22 that I've been using for the last 9 months or so on my T-7 and I gotta say, my smaller drill bits are very sharp. I do a lot of large hole drilling on my lathe using Silver & Deming bits up to 1-1/2" in size which are too large for the DBS-22 bit clamp. It seems to me a larger drill bit clamp that uses the existing slide guides could be done. Please Tormek, consider making this as an add-on to the DBS-22. Call it a DBS-44 Magnum. My large drill bits need sharpening love too...

Rob

Yes I like that...."The DBS-44 Magnum, Chinook, Elephant Drill Buster"
Best.    Rob.

Ken S

Welcome to the active forum, Papa Woody.

It would be interesting to know the factors which went into Sweden's decision to set the bit diameter range from 3 to 22 mm (1/8 to 7/8"). That range seems quite large for one holder to cover. A clever machinist could probably make holders for both smaller and larger bits to work with the jig. I am sure Tormek could,too.

In my opinion, the reason this has not happened is cost and market size. The present DBS-22 is, in my opinion, the very best of the Tormek line. It is well designed and machined. The grinding results are very accurate and consistent. It is anazingly versatile. It is priced accordingly. The price is fair, but high enough such that it will never become part of typical Tormek kit like the knife jigs. A Magnum version would cater to a much reduced clientel at a much higher price.