News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Square edge jig 90deg. not sharpening square?

Started by Angstrom, May 06, 2012, 06:59:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Angstrom

Hello everyone.   I'm new to the tormek family, I just started using my own T-7 & am having a blast.
After a few days of playing around with my  new machine, I've noticed my square edge jig
side wall set is not producing a square grind.   

At first I had a 0.7mm wobble, fixed that with a 1/4 turn of my washer.
My motor was making a Pulsing noise, it's going away with time as I'm
breaking in the motor. My stone was up and down , but since I've used my truing jig
the stone has been perfect.     

With the help of your forum and its member's I've fixed/solved most of the little bump and kinks.

But I was expecting to sit my tools snug on the side of the Square edge jig to produce a 90deg. grind.... :o
I'm finding I have to adjust and slightly offset by eye. Is this normal?

Thank you for any tips you can give.

Mike Fairleigh

I'm not sure I understand all of what you said (what is the washer you adjusted?) - but, as to the square edge jig - I've found that some of my tools that have "square edges and parallel sides" - some of them don't.  Even one of my very high end plane irons has a slight wave along one edge.  Any such imperfections will make it necessary to adjust slightly in the jig.  I've found that the thing that helps the most is what many have learned before - darken the whole bevel with a Sharpie, mount the tool in the jig, and turn the wheel by hand first to see where steel will be removed.  If it isn't removing steel where you expected, try to understand why before proceeding.