News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.

www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Tapered Felt Wheel

Started by Dave Cummins, December 07, 2022, 04:35:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dave Cummins

Im hoping somebody can offer advice regarding a tapered 250mm wheel I use on my T8. I primarily use this for sharpening serrated bread knives and the apex of the taper is becoming blunt and sometimes too wide to comfortably fit the scallops.
Im guessing there will be some members who have experienced the same issue and am wondering if there is a proven method to re-profile the taper.
Thanks in advance.
Dave

tgbto

Hi Dave.

I have no personal experience with this, but in this thread, the late Wootz explains how he had cut slots in his felt wheel. He's been using a dremel cutting disc. I believe it is the carbide-coated wood cutting disc.

I don't know if you have a FVB (maybe the HUSB would work too), but I'd use that as a support, and try to slowwwwwwwwly reshape the rotating felt wheel with the dremel on high enough a speed that it cuts easily, but not so fast as to burn the felt.

3D Anvil

I'd try a sanding block before resorting to the Dremel.

RickKrung

The dremel tool was for cutting transverse slots.  I do not think it applies to reshaping the wheel profile.  I suspect this could be quite difficult and I'm wonder if sanding it will work.  Sanding will fray the felt in order to wear it down.  This could leave the surface quite fuzzy and soft, not something you want.  I suspect the profile is formed when the wheel is pressed at the factory and it may be very difficult to re-create it.

Rick