News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.

www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Introduction and first post

Started by ozhunter, June 29, 2022, 03:51:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ozhunter

Hello everyone. I thought I would do an introduction post and show my attempts at sharpening in one go.

I'm a farmer from Central NSW, Australia. I've always struggled to get a knife sharp.

I've owned a T7 Tormek for about 10 years that I use to sharpen turning tools, plane irons and chisels with a good degree of success.

About 18 months ago, while trying to work out how to use the knife jig, I stumbled across the Knife Grinders Youtube channel, which proved to be an excellent learning tool. Vadim was very giving with his time and advice. My sympathies to his family on his passing.

I got a couple of knives sharper than I had ever achieved before, but all the usual stuff got in the way, and I never really pursued it further, until now. I discovered this forum which has proved very helpful.

I know there is some controversy surrounding the BESS system, but for better or worse I have one.

Attached are pre and post cheap(very) USB microscope pictures of the knife I sharpened tonight with a 12° per side edge. The knife is nothing special. It doesn't even have a brand on it. Had it in the kitchen for years.

Prior to any sharpening, I got an average BESS reading of 749

After 5 passes each side on a Tormek very fine diamond wheel, and 3 passes each side on the Tormek leather wheel with Tormek honing paste, I got an average BESS reading of 294.

After 5 strokes per side on a plain Kangaroo tail strop, I got an average BESS reading of 112.

I'm very pleased with the result. All that is required now is to train SWMBO no to use the glass cutting board.