News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

T8 Sharpening Question On Stock Wheel

Started by jorongold, May 26, 2021, 03:41:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jorongold

Hi, I'm new to the T8.   I am looking for some insight on getting the most out of the stock sharpening wheel.   At times, when I'm sharpening a chisel (for example) with the SE-77 I can hear and feel when my chisel is being sharpened, but other times using the same setup I'm not able to sharpen.   I have used the TT-50 to true the wheel, which helps but only for a bit.   I'm wondering if the wheel is just dirty and needs cleaned.   I feel like I'm pressing the SE-77 with chisel attached too hard into wheel to get some sort of sharpening results.   I do use the stone that came with the T8 to change grits.   Just looking for some insights.   I'm wondering if a diamond wheel would be better for me?  Let me know, Thanks!!!

micha

Hi Joseph,

welcome to the forum.

If you, at times, have the feeling that sharpening doesn't work, first make sure you got the angle set correctly. Do you use a Sharpie or the Anglemaster? Also, if you grind a chisel for the very first time (maybe slightly correcting the angle), it CAN take quite some time. The next time it will work much faster.

Applying some pressure on the standard wheel is perfectly ok. Trueing and changing grit is also recommended.
So take your time, you'll soon get the hang of it.

Personally, I would not recommend using a diamond wheel as long as you haven't mastered the procedure on th SG wheel.  - Just my thoughts -
Mike

John_B

Joseph,

Welcome to the forum.