News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Frontal Vertical Base DIY, partly made of wood

Started by WimSpi, March 15, 2021, 12:01:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WimSpi

As a new Tormek grinder, I have already learned a lot through this forum and through Knife Grinder and Schleifjunkies.

As a woodworker, I made the 'Frontal Vertical Base ' (FVB) partly out of wood. It worked very good, and I want to share that with you.
See the photos and the sketch.  Here are some remarks about the making:

1) It is important to use wood of dense composition with annual rings (quartersawing), that are close together and that is dry (photo 2). I myself have chosen maple. But beech, or oak can all be used as well.

2) It is important to be able to plane and drill to an accuracy of 0.5mm. For planing you better use a piece of wood twice the length (about 300mm). That planes more accurately. It is also important to plane the wood at right angles (90 degrees) and to plane it at the same thickness.

3) The measurements I used are on the drawing (photo 4). The sizes that are double underlined are important. The other sizes may vary slightly.

4) The measurements must all be plotted from the right angle and also from the center of that right angle.

5) Very important is that the 16mm from the right angle, for the 12mm holes, is completely parallel to this right angle.

6) For drilling, use a pillar drill. I pre-drilled the 12mm holes first with a 2mm drill bit.

7) Because of the water usage with the Tormek, I finished the wood with 3 coats of Danish oil.