News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Which jigs?????

Started by Wdcarver55, February 10, 2016, 07:31:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wdcarver55

Jeff Farris and others,

What jig is best for sharpening 8-10" mallet woodcarving gouges using a T7?
It seems the Tormek is used by far more turners than carvers, wonder why?

Thanks in advance
Greg
Have a good one
Greg

If your a carver let the chips fly......

RichColvin

I am a very amateur carver.  I use the SVD-185 for larger gouges, & the SVS-32 for smaller ones.  Both work extremely well for me.

Note, the SVD-185 has been replaced with the SVD-186 & the SVS-23 with the SVS-38.  Both are similar to the original ones, only better. 
---------------------------
Rich Colvin
www.SharpeningHandbook.info - a reference guide for sharpening

You are born weak & frail, and you die weak & frail.  What you do between those is up to you.

Wdcarver55

Rich, thanks for the information. There are so many jigs it's easy to get confused.

Greg
Have a good one
Greg

Ken S

Greg and Rich,

The Tormek seems an ideal sharpening system for carvers in many ways. Many carving tools have a small amount of usable blade length. Accurate jig use to assure minimum steel removal and consistent bevels is essential. The slow moving cool wet wheel insures that none of the precious tool edge is overheated.