News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.

www.tormek.com

Main Menu

TTS-100 and SVE-77?

Started by surveyor, November 08, 2016, 10:53:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

surveyor

Hi,
I'm new with the Tormek T8. Is it possible to use the TTS-100 with the SVE-77? I think it could make the setup very much easier.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Jens

Jan

Welcome to the forum Jens (surveyor)!  :)

The TTS-100 was not designed to work with SE-76 or SE-77.

Nevertheless it is possible to use the SE-76 for setting 25° chisel edge angle when the protrusion is 44 mm and you use the hole B. Read more about it at
http://forum.tormek.com/index.php?topic=2731.msg14578#msg14578

I do not have the new SE-77 so I cannot guarantee that it works also for it, but I hope it does. Please test it and let us know.  ;)

Jan

P.S.: For protrusion different from 44 mm you will get an edge angle different from 25° and this edge angle will slightly depend on grindstone diameter.   ;)

Ken S

Vollkommen, Jens.

Yes, it is not only possible, it is also my standard practice.

The TTS-100 auto corrects for grinding wheel wear. It also provides a constant, repeatable Distance setting (distance between the universal support and the grinding wheel).

There are numerous simple gage blocks for setting the Protrusion of the chisel or plane blade. My very simple method is placing a blank piece of labelmaker tape in one of the TTS-100 slots and marking a mark for the desired degrees. (25° and 30° normally suffice)

The SE-77 is essentially an improved version of the SE-76. It's a nice jig.

Ken

surveyor

Hi,
thank you very much Jan and Ken. I think I will buy the TTS-100 and give it a try.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Jens

Jan

Quote from: Ken S on November 08, 2016, 02:36:18 PM