News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Does Tormek Endorse?

Started by Columbo, July 20, 2024, 06:39:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Columbo

Hello my name is Phil. I'd like to thank you upfront for any info you may have. I've watched many Videos, I'm new to Knife Sharpening. I can't remember if I've actually read or seen in videos, if running two diamond or CBN wheels at one time on a T8 is OK.

Can running 2 wheels become a warranty issue?

I know for sure I've noticed in videos that some half. I guess I can also email Tormek directly to find out but then I miss out connecting with you fine & skilled people.

Because then I have another question. 

Thank you Phil

Ken S

Phil,

I can not speak for Tormek; however, I can not imagine Tormek endorsing running two grinding wheels at the same time. The traditional Tormek technique has been to run one wheel, generally the SG-250, the alter the grit using the stone grader.

This technique has recently been modified with the composite honing wheel. When used dry, the composite honing wheel gives a slightly "bitier" surface that when used dampened. This was covered in two videos on the KnifeGrindersyoutube channel.
Although not officially endorsed by Tormek, the late Vadim Kraichuk of KnifeGrinders was well regarded at Tormek. Changing back and forth between the composite wheel and the leather honing wheel is very quick and less expensive than a diamond or CBN wheel.

Ken

3D Anvil

I have no idea if running two wheels voids the warranty.  I suspect it probably does, but I've been running mine that way for well over a year with no problems (dual CBN wheels).  If you get an official response from Tormek I'd be curious to hear the answer.

Ken S

Phil,