News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Newbie here....

Started by David F, August 10, 2013, 04:50:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David F

Hi

I'm David.

I do abit of wood turning but I need decent grinder to sort my tools out.  (my sharpening by hand is rubbish)

All the reviews seem to point to Torrmek.

I ve been offered a "250"

Where one of those fit into the line up?

thanks   David

Ken S

Welcome, David. 

The Tormek "250" is a bit puzzling.  The grinding wheels on the larger size (Super Grind or T7, T7 being the current model) is 250mm in diameter x 50mm width.  (For those of us still on the old inch system that's 10" diameter by 2" width.

I would highly recommend choosing the larger wheel.  That's the traditional flagship size for Tormek.  If you go new, the T7 includes the stone grader and diamond dressing tool, both of which are essential.  The T7 is heavier (more stable) and has a heavier duty motor.  The new T7 units come with the much improved EZYlock shafts as standard equipment, as is the new larger water trough.

My only experience is with the T7.  Other members can help you with other models. 

You should gather more information about the model being offered to you for us to be of help.

Good luck.

Ken

Herman Trivilino

Quote from: David F on August 10, 2013, 04:50:54 PM

There are only two in the line up.  The original, which is the one used by everyone here, has the 250 mm diameter grindstone.  It's called the T7 and the housing is blue in color, or the older 2000, green in color. 

Second in the line up is the T3 with a 200 mm grindstone.  It's a lighter duty machine.