News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

SOOOO Slow...What am I doing wrong.

Started by sbirdranch, February 06, 2010, 06:19:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sbirdranch

I (and I stress 'I') must be doing something wrong!

I am a newb to the t7 but not the concept of grinding/honing.
I cannot get the wheel to cut at a rate that is acceptable.  I just spent an hour on one 6 inch jointer blade.  My neck and back are killing me (machine height is low as demonstrated and specified.).  When doing chisels it seems to work ok, but with the planer/jointer blade attachement it is taking forever.

The blade I just did was dull, and had been hand hones low on one corner.  No major dings.

The only way I can get it to cut with the jig at any acceptable rate is to dress the wheel rough.  Seems like I'll go through the wheel in too big a hurry to be the right approach.  I freshen the wheel with the stone and it is a little better.

I need some serious help on this one.  What am I missing.  I'm concerned that the wheel looks to load up very quickly.  I'd post a pic. but don't see how on this site.

Someone save me...I want to love my T7.

P.

Jeff Farris

When doing high speed steel it may be necessary to use the stone grader (coarse side) every 5 - 10 minutes.  Use the corner of the grader, instead of the flat surface. 
Jeff Farris

sbirdranch

Thanks for the reply....After my first post, and having read another place you suggested the corner, I did just that and it helped a lot.  I was just afraid of being too aggressive.  Carborundum sticks on a regular grind wheel can make a dent in a hurry.