News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

please help me flatten the side of my grinding wheel!!!

Started by jetwoodshop, May 31, 2012, 01:59:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jetwoodshop

i have posted a couple of times on this topic and have tried to email tormek directly. can anyone help? i have a job coming up that would really benefit from sharp, square tools. 

i have a tormek T7 and i want to know:

is there a proper method that i have not been following that would avoid dishing the side of my wheel? (the wear increases toward the center.)
is there a jig or a way to modify my TT-50 truing tool to flatten the side of my wheel?

help! please!

-james

Mike Fairleigh

I'm no expert so I've avoided replying, but I'll throw this out there -

It seems very strange that your wheel side is dishing just from flattening.  Are you using even pressure?  How much of the back are you trying to flatten?  I can't think of any way to re-flatten the side, at least not to the degree it originally was.

I choose to flatten instead using a granite plate and self-adhesive 3M Stickit rolls, but I don't see why the side of the wheel would create such problems.
Mike

"If I had 8 hours to chop down a tree, I'd spend 7 sharpening my axe."  --Abraham Lincoln

Jeff Farris

I have used the coarse side of the stone grader more successfully than anything else I've tried.  Are you sure it is out of flat? It could be wearing unevenly (more toward the center), yet remain flat.

As for technique, I only use the section of the stone that is running through the water tray.
Jeff Farris

Herman Trivilino

Quote from: jetwoodshop on May 31, 2012, 01:59:02 AM