News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

T4 Honing

Started by SliceKing, October 10, 2018, 07:27:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SliceKing

Hello!
I'm a newbie so I'm ignorant of any and all TORMEK tips and tricks. Anyway - I had difficulty yesterday when honing longer knives on my new T4. The grinding wheel was in the way when trying to hone one side of the blade. Am I just not positioning myself - or the knife - or the machine - in the correct orientation - or is this a well known T4 problem? Once I took the grinding wheel off there was no problem. Well, there was one problem. Occasionally the friction I was creating on the honing wheel (even with moderate pressure) was enough to pull it off the drive wheel. So I'd have to stop the machine, line up the shaft and push everything back together. After this happened a few times I 'solved' my problem by putting an elastic band on the grinding wheel shaft right next to the housing so the shaft was 'anchored'. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong and/or provide tips on more efficient T4 honing? Thanks!

cbwx34

Quote from: SliceKing on October 10, 2018, 07:27:55 PM
Hello!