News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Hello and first problems....

Started by Stefano, February 15, 2016, 06:39:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken S

I was  thinking it was "Bob"' however, Bob might be your uncle. :)

Ken

Hatchcanyon

Quote from: Stefano on February 15, 2016, 06:39:01 PM
Hello from a newbie.
Hi from Italy, I bought a tormek t7 for my woodturning tools last week. Yesterday I spent 6 hours to grind my "destroyed" oval skew chisel grinded in the past with wrong machines.  After that it was difficult to have a sharp edge of the chisel because even if I was using the stone grader to rebuild the abrasive qualities, the wheel didn't grind the steel of the tip. I'm doing something wrong? Someone could help me?

Hello Stefano,

I'm a newbie too, had the same problem last month.

My wife started turning and we wanted to get sharp tools overall. The oval skew chisel was a pain in the ass. The first millimeter worked well, lateron the advance slowed down to nearly nothing.

I think that comes of two reasons. First most turning tools are HSS today second the surface area grinded at once is quite large with this type of tool. Pressing harder helps to some amount but is not the real solution, one can't even press hard enough. Preparing the stone is also not sufficient on a SG stone.

The best result I got by switching to the SB stone which is far more aggressive on HSS steel. It reduced grinding time substantial, estimated by a factor of ten.

Rolf
German with a second home in the American Southwestern Desert - loves Old England too.

Ken S

Quote from: Stefano on February 17, 2016, 05:44:09 PM
;)  :D
It works, it works it works!!!!
Thanks to all your answers!!!