News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Brand new T4

Started by jwent333, January 08, 2023, 12:31:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jwent333

Greetings,

I have had my T4 for over a week with some of the accessories to start with

KJ-45
TT-50
SVM-00

I have yet to use the T4. I am an Executive Chef by trade and at 55 years old I figured it was time to dive into sharpening my own knives. I was always horrible with stones and could never get the angles down. I also never had the time or patience to really work at it.

I have mainly R-2 or SG2 steel, VG10 and an unknown steel that Misono (UX10). Misono will not release info on their steel. All knives are Double Bevel Edge 50/50, except the Misono's which are 70/30 bevel (right handed). They will be a challenge for the future.

I have some older style German knives which are high carbon stainless with a bolster and many Forschner knives.

I have been reading forums and watching videos, and as usual I overthink things. I have watched the DVD that came with the T4 as well as some youtube videos.

This all can be overwhelming. I know this forum has many suggested videos to watch and I will when time permits.

The question I have is if anyone can recommend basic or even in depth videos for a novice (noob) to the Tormek world.

I am confused by the many videos out there.

Thank you in advance.

Jeff

cbwx34

Quote from: jwent333 on January 08, 2023, 12:31:10 AM...

The question I have is if anyone can recommend basic or even in depth videos for a novice (noob) to the Tormek world.

Thank you in advance.

Jeff

The "Sharpening Class" videos from Tormek is where I'd start.  Here's the playlist...

Tormek Sharpening Class

... look for the ones that pertain to what you sharpen.