News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

TT-50 Problem

Started by Thalweg, March 30, 2019, 03:07:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thalweg

Hi,
This is my first time posting here. I got my new T-8 about a month ago and I've been diligently sharpening every tool in my shop. Today I slipped while sharpening a chisel and put a gouge in the stone. So I got out the TT-50 to clean up the wheel and the tool froze up on me. It seems like the plastic knob is frozen up in the bushing in the side of the tool. The part that holds the cutter that goes back and forth on the threaded rod seems to be free, so I don't think that is the problem.

I emailed the seller tonight, and hopefully they'll help me out under warranty. Unfortunately, I'm sitting here with a damaged stone and no way to fix it until I hear back from them. I suspect that if I could get the tool apart I could fix it, at least temporarily. This thing doesn't want to come apart though. Has anyone ever taken a TT-50 apart? I'd appreciate any advise anyone has.

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, Thalweg.

It sounds like the plastic lock knob which secures the TT-50 to the universal support bar has jammed. Is this correct? If so.....

You may be able to loosen it with a round rubber jar loosening tool. It will increase your gripping power.

My second course of action would be to gently use Channelock pliers or Vise Grips wrapped with electrical tape to prevent damaging the plastic knob. The ke6 word is gently.

I had a very similar experience. I forgot to tighten the knob securing my TT-50 and the universal support bar. I put a nasty gouge in my grinding wheel. I thought that I had ruined my diamond. When I was calm again, I tried using the TT-50 very carefully. Everything is back to normal.