News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

reshaping a skew chisel

Started by Ken S, August 09, 2018, 02:57:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken S

I have a flat, straight ground one inch skew chisel that I am reshaping to an Alan Lacer grind. The Lacer grind leaves a third of the chisel with a straight grind (with no skew) and the other two thirds ground with a radius. From the tip of the straight portion to the tip of the radius portion, there is a combined skew angle of twenty degrees, often stated as seventy degrees. I am doing this on my Tormek. It has been laborious, however, it is a one time project. Resharpening in the future will go much more quickly.

I am new to sharpening turning tools. This project is very educational. It is also humbling. Let me state up front that I don't know how many of my difficulties are Tormek related and how many are operator inexperience. I am making progress.

Switching from the horizontal position to vertical helped. Switching from the Multi Jig to the platform was a big help, at least for this combined grind. Also, I found that turning the platform around helped. The locking screw rides outside the grinding wheel. The platform is offset to the right. This allows the long side of the platform to face between the support bar and the grinding wheel. It keeps the chisel much steadier.