News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

New Tormek T-4 with wobbly grindstone

Started by Schmart, May 10, 2019, 04:54:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Schmart

Hi everyone,

I'm a hobbyist woodworker and knife enthousiast from the Netherlands, and long-time lurker of this forum. After years of deliberation, I've finally decided to invest in a Tormek T-4 and the HTK-706 hand tool kit, and have already beautifully sharpened some chisels and knives.

However, I'm dealing with huge wobble and eccentricity of the grindstone 19 out of 20 times after taking it off and attaching it again. The axle seems straight and the bushings are fine and well lubricated with the white lithium EP2 grease I purchased.

I've already read a lot about possible issues and beginner mistakes and resolutions. For example, I marked the position of the washer, stone and axle when I get nearly perfect behavior. However, I'm not able to repeat this success with everything aligned identically. I've dressed the stone and even flattened the stone on the washer-side using the grading stone, but I still run into issues. The problem was less noticible in the beginning and while the stone was still factory-dry, but after having used the machine and taken the stone off for a couple of times, I'm afraid the problem is getting worse. I'm afraid the cause might be the arbor hole that is too large.

Below is a OneDrive link of a video of me demonstrating the problem as it was when I just got the machine. Notice that where I tightened the wheel an extra bit by hand, it caused much less wobble in this instance. Increasingly, I'm not that lucky anymore...

https://1drv.ms/v/s!Au1g8fW6BaQzh8YFPyS_NRI9mXKh_A

I would appreciate your insight and opinions on this!

jeffs55