News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Chisel Edge not square to side

Started by hedgelayer, July 17, 2017, 01:21:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hedgelayer

I know this has been raised before. I'm a Tormek newbie.

I purchased a Supergrind 2000 from Ebay that produces a superb edge on my chisels. The stone is quite worn (180 mm diameter) but otherwise looks OK. But the ground edge is not square to the side of the chisel - despite the fact that I have used the truing tool to dress the stone. It almost seems like the tool rest is not square to the stone. (I have seen discussions elsewhere on this topic on this site). The degree of skew is quite pronounced - to the extent that I have reverted to manual sharpening.

What am I doing wrong ? Or could there be something amiss with the machine I have bought ?

Many thanks for all suggestions.

James

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, James.

If you have not already registered your Tormek online (tormek.com), I suggest doing so. Your Tormek is out of warranty period, however, once you are registered you may download the latest version of the handbook. The handbook is a solid reference; I use it often.

Adjust the universal support bar very close to the grinding wheel. In very good light, look at the opening between the support bar and the grinding wheel. The opening should look parallel. If it is not parallel, I suggest you email Tormek support in Sweden. (support@tormek.se)

I believe we have a natural tendency to want to sharpen a set of chisels in order, beginning with the most narrow. This is a difficult path. Begin with your 3/4" (19mm) chisel. It is wide enough to provide a well supported flat area and not excessively wide. (Be sure to read the first frozen topic on Tips)