News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Another SE-77 square edge jig question

Started by justonething, March 21, 2017, 02:34:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

justonething

Long time lurker but first time poster.
I have a tormek T7 and I like using it. I also bought myself the SE-77 as an add on and I enjoy using it too.
I do a lot of plane irons and chisels - I like planes and I own a lot of them and I use them extensively in my projects. I am also a woodworking teacher at a community centre where they run an introductory woodworking class. I found that all my students get hooked on planing all by themselves as soon as I give them a real sharp plane and they will be off making shavings in no time, almost mesmerized by the ease and beauty of what they are creating and the sound planing creates. With Tormek, I create a sharp edge quickly and consistently.
I can get an iron or a chisel sharp in less than 5 mins - from the time that I take the iron out of plane to the time I start planing again and I credit Tormek for most of that. While I enjoy using the SE-77, especially with the micro adjusters,I wasn't keen on using the jig the "tormek way" to get camber on my iron - to line up the centre of the iron to the centre line in the jig and tapping it here and there until you get it square in my jig. It's too time consuming when I am doing it every hour. So I've been cambering by putting more pressure on the corners of the iron as I move the iron across the surface of the SG-250 wheel.