News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Carbide

Started by J.O_Donnell, January 10, 2016, 04:47:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

J.O_Donnell

As a young man one of my first jobs was at a carbide sharpening shop. Industrial scale, hydraulic actuated, conical and flat diamond wheels. My chore was angle finding, notating and machine operation, some brazing to replace chips on expensive saw blades, then shaped to match existing so they could run through the machines without crashing. A missing chip is a terrible thing.

I now work as a floor coverer. I am resilient floor cove and weld specialty. We use carbide and diamond for concrete milling, the costs of carbide chips are in the hundreds, diamonds are thousands. Steel blades are still required for shaving welded vinyl and because we have carborundum and quartz impregnated non slip surfaces, my steel blades need constant maintenance. My carbide chips also need similar maintenance.

The carbide is used on buffer machines to scrape residual adhesive. This power scraper is good for 8000sf and then the carbide has a rounded dull edge and no longer as effective. Since I already need to get the T4 and  SVD-185 Gouge Jig to sharpen our steel X acto round gouges, our planer blades, and perhaps our groover blades I figured I would ask the following serious question.