News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Recent posts

Knife Sharpening / Re: Retrofit for the KJ-45 to ...
Last post by VijayDoshi - Yesterday at 09:40:30 PM
We'll be using these in our business over the foreseeable future I will keep an eye out for any issues.
Last post by Ken S - Yesterday at 09:01:30 PM
I suspect it placed uneven pressure and uneven bevels.

Ken
Last post by VijayDoshi - Yesterday at 08:48:06 PM
Interesting, what was the impact of users leaning on the shaft?
General Tormek Questions / Re: Newbie here....
Last post by John_B - Yesterday at 08:46:08 PM
Watch the videos and practice. I would start with a chisel or a knife (not your best) to get a feel for the machines operation. Avoid dollar store knives; they are hard to sharpen as it is difficult to remove the burr as they are often very soft. A good test for sharpness are receipts.
Last post by Ken S - Yesterday at 08:28:54 PM
I hate to discourage innovation; however, all Tormek SVM jigs made prior to 1992 had longer shafts. Tormek switched to the shorter shafts in present use because some users were leaning on the longer shafts.

Ken
Last post by VijayDoshi - Yesterday at 07:44:35 PM
This qualifies as an "improvement" to an existing patent according to my attorney which; in the U.S., is permitted.
Novelty
The improvement must be new and not known or used by others in the country.
Non-obviousness
The improvement must not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the area of technology related to the invention.
Usefulness
The improvement must add a new function or extends the existing function of the invention.