News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Video: Convex Grinding On A Tormek T8

Started by iSharpen, October 01, 2024, 08:07:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

iSharpen

Had a go at convex grinding on the T8. Obviously I'm not an expert at it but a Facebook troll said it was impossible so I had to try - right?

It came out "ish" and with practice and refinement it'd be nicer. I'd love to try it on the Jap wheel. Imagine a perfect mirror convex grind. That'd squash the trolls and would look marty purdy.

I had a search around and couldn't find much in the topic apart from the French version that Tormek officially did. As atrocious as YouTube's translater is, just watching him do it was all I needed to give it a go. My biggest tip is "fast is better than slow". I made a short of me giggling when I floored it.

If I had to give myself a score out of 10, Id score myself a solid "at least he tried"  ;D

Enjoy...

Convex Grinding On A Tormek T8: Is It Really Possible?

tgbto

Hey Baz,

Nice video, and congrats for taking the time and effort to detail all this.

I hope you won't count me among facebook trolls ... but ... I have to ask how you happen to be sure it is "definitely convex", and especially how it was so right after the Tormek treatment alone.

The way I see it, there is no avoiding the concavity created by the wheel at the apex. As soon as you start to bring the knife down from the far stop to the near stop, you're working on the shoulder of the concave grind. So all the apex ever sees is a convex wheel grinding a concave grind. And how convex it is beyond the apex is the result of many factors including speed, but also probably at least pressure.