News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Help with stropping

Started by davidapplewhite, January 01, 2021, 07:13:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidapplewhite

I'm brand new to Tormek having been on an Edge Pro for 12 years. I've never stropped before and I feel like I may be rounding the edge off slightly. I get the rotating the edge up until I see the burr starting to come off on the first side, but I'm having trouble repeating the angle after the burr is removed.

How do I maintain a consistent angle stropping?
How many passes should I be making with the strop for a standard German cooks knife vs a folder in m390.

BradGE

Hi David,

Welcome to the Forum!

You could try colouring in the bevel with a sharpie before each pass until you get a feel for the motion and angle that is required. And you could mount the USB on the front side of the machine to give yourself self somewhere to rest your wrist to maybe help get a repeatable movement.  I'm sure you'll crack it quickly. 

All the best,

Brad

RickKrung

Quote from: davidapplewhite on January 01, 2021, 07:13:08 PM
I'm brand new to Tormek having been on an Edge Pro for 12 years. I've never stropped before and I feel like I may be rounding the edge off slightly. I get the rotating the edge up until I see the burr starting to come off on the first side, but I'm having trouble repeating the angle after the burr is removed.

How do I maintain a consistent angle stropping?
How many passes should I be making with the strop for a standard German cooks knife vs a folder in m390.