News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

How to flatten a chisel back

Started by jspill, June 27, 2017, 04:06:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jspill

I recently purchased a used T7 machine. I have never used a Tormek. Previously I have sharpened chisels and plane blades using waterstones, sandpaper, and a Worksharp. It is now time to enter the wonderful world of Tormek that I have read so much about.
I need to sharpen set of chisels for a Record #44 plow plane. First I want to flatten the back of each chisel. I'd like to know the proper procedure for flattening the back of a chisel or plane blade. Is the grit on the side of the wheel the only grit I need to use? Roughly how long does the blade need to be held against the wheel? Since I am brand new to this I would appreciate any advice I can be given. Thanks.

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, James. I'm a believer in having a shop reference library. I would highly recommend two books to you. Woodcraft Supply had a vintage book by the Record Company reprinted. I bought my copy in 1972 at their original store in Woburn, Mass. They still list it. It is a fine reference book.

The second book is Chris Schwarz' Handplane Book. Chris mentions flattening the irons for a Rocord#44. He was delighted to find that they all bowed slightly inward (concave), thus requiring little work. I have encountered the same thing with Blue Chip chisels inspired by Marples. If you run one of the blades over a piece of glass with 320 grit wet or dry sandpaper and both ends are rubbed, you are home free. If you rub only the middle, called "belly", you are in for some work.

Time to pick up my grandchildren. I will return and continue this post.

Ken

SharpenADullWitt