News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

How long will the concave edge stay Sharp compared to a Scandi edge?

Started by Qsharp, October 01, 2020, 04:23:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Qsharp

Hi Guys, I am new to sharpening, therefore I know I have a lot to learn.  I hope my question doesn't sound too silly.

I am considering purchasing the Tormek T-8 But I have a slight concern. Am I right in thinking when sharpening high-end chefs' knives using the T8 one can expect to end up with a small concave edge.

If I am correct, is my customer at a disadvantage in that the razor sharpness will only last for about three months with normal use.

Comparing the Concave to the Scandi edge, I have been told one would expect the sharpness to last for up to 6 months. From my customers point of view, this would be significant.

I would be grateful if you guys could let me have your opinions on how long one can expect the edge to remain razor sharp using the Tormek T8.

John_B

Here is a thread where it is discussed.
https://forum.tormek.com/index.php?topic=3840.msg25741#msg25741

I have found that proper usage and knife care have a greater impact on longevity than the minor concave edge. I have seen no data that shows a 2X life for a Scandi edge. I think if this were true butchers and other high use professions would not allow their knives to be sharpened on a Tormek; which does not happen as many have long standing relationships with Tormek sharpeners. Like a myriad of things you hear on the Internet unsubstantiated myths and beliefs tend to have a life of their own. Knife sharpening is no different in this regard.
Sharpen the knife blade
Hone edge until perfection
Cut with joy and ease

Ken S