News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

SUPER GRIND 2000 VS T4 or T8

Started by millopa, October 25, 2020, 12:03:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

millopa

Hi,,

I am new here and do not own a Tormek yet.
I intend to buy one but still hesitating for which one to go.
I a doing woodwork and need it to sharpen chisels mainly but will also use it to sharpen everything that needs it in the house.
I am not a Professional tough and the machine will not run in the workshop 8 hours a day.
I recently saw a Super Grind 2000 for sale. Is that the equivalent of the current T8 or T4 ?
What are the main differences between those three models ?
the SuperGrind i spotted is rather expensive I find for a secondhand (650 Euros with some tools: SVS40 /SVM 100/ADV500/SP 650, SVX150 and SVH 320) even tough it seems to be in quite good shape.
What would you recommend ?

thanks for your advice

Pascal

jeffs55

The Supergrind is the precursor to the T7 and later the T8. It would serve you well but the price you saw seems a bit to much. I do not know what a Tormek goes for in Europe. If that 650 euros were dollars I would say maybe $400 for the lot you mentioned. Although the Tormek is very robust and will normally last for many years, that old unit is out of warranty and you do not know its history. For me, at that price I would save some more and get a new T8. I would buy the jigs I needed as I needed them. Go slow and learn to use them one at a time. The new T8 will have a better water trough and a stainless shaft for the stone. It may come with the EZ lock nut which is another plus. If you are just going to sharpen very little you might look into the T4 as a cheaper alternative but I would go for the T8 and never look back.