News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Hello

Started by Nosetotail, July 18, 2020, 04:38:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nosetotail

Hi all. I am new to the Tormek community.  I bought a very good condition used T4 last month for 300.  It included a grindstone that measured out at about 188 mm. Also included was the standard knife jig and stone grader along with the honing oil and compound. The unit is about a year old and I have the original receipt.

All I can say is WOW! I should have tried this years ago. Now it seems I have jumped down the rabbit hole head first.  In a month I have acquired a new original stone, diamond truing tool, Angle Tool, an XB 100 horizontal base, and have fabricated a frontal vertical base.  I thought I would share my simple design.

I didn't have access to a drill press, so I opted for a design I could build with just a jigsaw and battery drill.  I used 2" by 1/8" flat bar aluminum and 1/2" all thread.  I managed to find a piece of all thread that was slightly smaller in diameter than the rest of the 1/2" pieces.  This allowed me a very strick tolerance fit that is tighter than the fit with the fsctory guide bar rods that I assume are 12mm.

I cut 3 pieces of flat bar a little wider than the horizontal base piece.  I drilled two 1/2" holes into two of these to a tight fit with the guide bar.  My holes were just a tad too close so I had to make them a little bigger.  The result was just right. The guide rods slid into the plates with absolutely no play.