News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Tips on tips

Started by MrSwede, September 19, 2020, 01:32:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrSwede

Due to personal circumstances I haven't been able to go all in with my Tormek but I got my FVB from Wootz this week so i started to practice. I've gotten to the point that the bevel is nice and even almost along the whole length, the problem is the tip. As shown in the picture (edge to the right, tip up) the very tip is in a different angel from the rest of the bevel. I don't know if I'm being an*l about it (I'm a surgical nurse so yes, I'm an*l about it) or if it dosen't have any practical implications. I first thought that I lifted the handle to mutch but it looks like a sharp line between the angels. If I just lifted to mutch then, I think, it would have been a smoother transition.
I'm at the start of my learning curve and I want to learn the right way rather than get set in a way that's wrong. So I need some advice from you guys how to solve this problem.

micha

Hans,
I'm a bit lost with the image detail. Makes it hard to tell what kind of knife it is and how the tip should look like. The sharp line indeed looks a bit strange, is there some laminated steel involved?

I've had similar problems with tips with my very first knives on the Tormek. I think as beginners we actually tend to overgrind the tips. Some blades require very little lifting, and once you lift, the pressure on the portion of the blade which is ground is proportionally very high, so its quite easily overground.

If tips also feel dull, it's quite helpful to just touch them a little from the spine of the blade.

Mike

cbwx34

Quote from: MrSwede on September 19, 2020, 01:32:40 PM