News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

New T8 User

Started by Huang, February 28, 2019, 06:32:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Huang

Hi,
I'm new to the Tormek world, and I am sharpening all my woodworking tools. While sharpening my chisels I found the stone cut very rapidly. I understand this is due to the width of the blade. When I transitioned to the plane irons it seems after re-truing the stone it got fairly smooth rather quickly. I used the stone grader to keep the wheel course, but it still seemed to not cut as fast as "I think it should". I have never graded the wheel to 1000 grit. How frequently do I need to regrade the stone?

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, Huang.

Just a quick reply before I take my grandchildren to school: The coarse side of the stone grader is not as coarse as a freshly dressed wheel using the TT-50 truing tool. If your coarse graded wheel is not cutting fast enough for your task, try using the truing tool with a very light cut. I generally use a third to a half of a microadjust number. This exposes fresh, sharp cutting grains with minimal wheel wear.

More later.

Ken

cbwx34

Quote from: Huang on February 28, 2019, 06:32:29 AM
Hi,
I'm new to the Tormek world, and I am sharpening all my woodworking tools. While sharpening my chisels I found the stone cut very rapidly. I understand this is due to the width of the blade. When I transitioned to the plane irons it seems after re-truing the stone it got fairly smooth rather quickly. I used the stone grader to keep the wheel course, but it still seemed to not cut as fast as "I think it should". I have never graded the wheel to 1000 grit. How frequently do I need to regrade the stone?