News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

CBN 280g fro chisel sharpening

Started by Meredith, October 26, 2018, 07:12:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Meredith

Hi Guys, I am a professional sharpener in Australia. My sharpening business offers sharpening services on Knives, all scissors types, Animal Clipper blades, and much to my angst chisels.  I have a Tormek, however i find it much too slow to sharpen chisels on to continue to offer this service. My options are to buy a 280g CBN wheel or sell the machine. As i am in Australia the CBN wheel options are limited and importing a CBN from America is too cost prohibitive.   Is a 280 grit CBN suitable for chisel sharpening?
Thanks Meredith

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, Meredith.

Before offering an opinion whether to purchase another grinding wheel or sell your Tormek, I would like to do some fact finding.

What is the starting condition of the chisels you are sharpening? Chisels are often abused. Sharpening a dull chisel is one thing. Repairing a chisel with substantial nicks is another matter, and should be priced accordingly. A sharpener can reasonably charge more to regrind a knife with a broken tip. Why shouldn't a chisel with a broken edge be more expensive to regrind?

I originally purchased my Tormek to sharpen chisels. I have never thought of chisels as being slow sharpening. One of the differences I notice between CBN and matrix (the Original) wheels is that CBN keeps on cutting, whereas the Original wheel will slow down without some attention. I am a devout believer in keeping the grinding wheel regularly trued and dressed. A freshly trued wheel will cut the most efficiently. If you become fluent with using the TT-50 truing tool, frequent light truing takes very little time.