News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

New to Tormek

Started by RTaylor, April 10, 2017, 12:15:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RTaylor

Hello Everyone,

I don't know how this works but I'll just give it a shot. My name is Russell and I live in Corpus Christi Texas. I grew up in Wiggins Mississippi lived in Georgia, Louisiana, and North Carolina at times as an adult. I'm a international oilfield worker working 28/28 in the North Sea. I am also a resident of Denmark and currently in Esbjerg. I have been researching the Tormek for over a year. I just like many also looked into competitor machines and kept coming back to the Tormek time and time again. Everything I read about them is positive and last night I pulled the trigger. I purchased a T8 W/ the ultimate plus bundle. It should arrive at my house in TX sometime this week. I'm a capable guy and sure I'll pick it pretty quick. I've always just used a standard wet stone and steel to sharpen my knives. This is the way I was taught as a kid sharpening my pocket knives. It works and gets them sharp but wanted something more. My pocket knives are always fine using that method because I usually lose them before they get too old. Kitchen knives I own do give me issues after so many years and my wife throwing them in the dish washer doesn't help, lol. I plan on opening up a knife sharpening  business part time after I perfect the proper techniques. I think it'll work out pretty good as I have half the year off anyway. This will keep me busy while at home. I have read quite a few topics on this forum and trying to sponge up as much info as possible. I have also been watching every YouTube video possible and should be done by the time I get to Texas to start using my machine. If there is something else