News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Machinist Square for Tormek Users?

Started by sweet_strings, December 18, 2016, 04:04:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sweet_strings

Would someone kindly recommend a good, precision machinist square that will enable me to keep my plane blades and chisels in the Squre Edge-77 jig while checking my progress towards square? I often sharpen blades that are wider than 2 3/8", such as the No. 8 plane blade (2 5/8") and No. 80 Scraper Plane blade (2 3/4"), and I'm a looking for a machinist square that can check a blade at least 3" long (from the inner edge of the stock to the end of the square's blade).

The stock part of the square should not be too long, however, otherwise it will run into the jig. This is especially true when checking the sharpening of short blades or ones with higher angles (e.g., 40 degrees or more) that require shorter protrusions out of the SE-77 jig. Ideally, the stock part of the square should be less than an inch long, or would be made of a material I could cut down to size if necessary.

I'm getting tired of having to remove the blade from the SE-77 jig every time I wish to check my progress for square.

Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help.
Chris

Ken S

Chris,

Welcome to the forum. You ask a very pertinent question. Here is a link to the closest thing I have found:

http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/page.aspx?p=32601&cat=1,42936,42941