News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Knife Shapening

Started by rmisale, October 21, 2015, 02:31:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rmisale

I am new to the Tormek T7 and can't seem to get a razor sharp edge on my knife.
It seems I can get a better edge by hand sharpening.

This machine has good reviews so it must be something I am doing wrong.

Also when I applied the honing coupond the leather belt became dusty and when I try to hone it seems to make the knife duller.

Could use some help.

Thanks

grepper

Welcome to the forum rmisale!

Don't worry, be happy.  Your T7 will get your knives very sharp.

First, watch this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fYURcwkKGPs

Then watch a few of these:
http://tinyurl.com/qj72hbn

Did you apply a bit of light machine oil to the leather before applying compound?  Don't use too much.  Don't saturate the leather.  You don't want the leather to become slippery and soaked with oil.  A little oil helps with dust.

Search this forum for: oil honing wheel
There is a lot of discussion about it.

You might be using too much compound on the honing wheel.  In this case less is best.

The idea is to have the leather wheel hold the compound in the surface of the leather to make an abrasive surface.
http://forum.tormek.com/index.php?topic=2388.msg11870#msg11870

http://forum.tormek.com/index.php?topic=2388.0

If this stuff does not help, just let us know.  Folks here respond quickly, are an amazing resource and more than happy to help!  You will have sharp knives.  :)

Ken S

Very good reply, Grepper. Welcome to the forum, rmisale. Don't be shy about asking questions. We have all been beginners at one point.

Ken

Jimmy R Jørgensen