News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Tormek 1200 model

Started by John A, June 03, 2022, 12:06:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

John A

Hi, this is my first post on the forum.

I'm enjoying getting good, repeatable profiles on my bowl and spindle gouges, though I'm still learning.

My question is whether the diamond wheels (200mm) will fit on my model?  Axminster stock them and I was thinking of buying a 'Fine 600 grit' wheel.

Thanks in advance,

cbwx34

Quote from: John A on June 03, 2022, 12:06:28 PM

Hi, this is my first post on the forum.

I'm enjoying getting good, repeatable profiles on my bowl and spindle gouges, though I'm still learning.

My question is whether the diamond wheels (200mm) will fit on my model?  Axminster stock them and I was thinking of buying a 'Fine 600 grit' wheel.

Thanks in advance,

Yes, that wheel will fit on the 1200.

You might find this video of interest... 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WnHl2xPo3VI

..so might check the shaft of the machine before ordering.

Congrats on your progress!
Knife Sharpening Angle Calculator:
Calcapp Calculator-works on any platform.
(or Click HERE to see other calculators available)

John A

Many thanks cbwx34 for the info and very prompt info and pleased to hear that.

if I need a new main shaft, just wondering whether there's a different length for my older model?

Thanks,
John

cbwx34

Quote from: John A on June 04, 2022, 11:19:51 AM
if I need a new main shaft, just wondering whether there's a different length for my older model?

Thanks,
John

The MSK-200 should fit your machine, according to the Tormek page...

https://www.tormek.com/international/en/spare-parts/shafts/msk-200-stainless-steel-shaft/

... (the video I linked to earlier was a 1200 model).