News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Bowl Gouge - how to fix convex sides?

Started by Mike Goetzke, July 30, 2013, 04:18:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike Goetzke

I'm new to turning. I'm working on some cherry bowls. I ground my gouge to #6 75mm hole A. It just doesn't look correct and I had a few catches. Any suggestions appreciated:

Rob

Hi Mike

I'm guessing that with jig setting No 6 you were aiming for a long swept back wings fingernail grind.  Is that right?  If so there are two different issues I would suggest you consider:

- firstly the picture looks to me like your wings aren't any where near ground enough.  To get the "Ellsworth" type fingernail grind which I believe jig setting 6 tends to be close to...you need to spend time just grinding the wings of the gouge.  Do each wing separately and then make sure at the end that they are symmetrical.  Expect to take quite a long time on each of the wings (I'm talking maybe half an hour or more per wing...its not a quick process).
- secondly, given you're new to turning, I don't believe a very long winged fingernail grind is appropriate because it takes quite a bit of skill to use that grind effectively.  You might find it better to start with jig setting 3 and not sweep the wings back so far.  It will be more forgiving and it wont take nearly as long to grind.

Catches are an inevitable part of learning to turn.  I didn't take any classes when I started and I think my learning took longer for it.  If you have the opportunity, it might be time and money well spent to have say a morning on spindle turning and an afternoon on bowls to "speed up time".

Welcome to the forum in any event and keep us posted.
Best.    Rob.

Mike Goetzke