News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Three Questions

Started by jimmyhil, May 27, 2013, 11:39:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimmyhil

Hello, I'm new to the Tormek Community. For quite sometime I have been struggling to get the perfect edge on my tools, and have tried everything else but the Tormek, mainly because of the cost.  Having thrown all that money away on systems that did not work for me, I have now come to my senses and purchased the Tormek system. I'm sure I have made a good investment from the results I have achieved in sharpening two bowl gouges.  As I was using the system several questions came to mind which I would like to include in this post.  To the community out there the answers may seem obvious, but I'll ask them anyway.  The first one concerns the position you adopt when at the machine.  I stood in front, and found that my body got in the way when sharpening a long handled bowl gouge.  Is the bench I have the machine on two high?  Jeff Farris stands to the side of the machine, while other users on Youtube stand in front. What is the perceived wisdom on this.  My second question concerns the use the the grading stone.  Once all my tools have been shaped does the stone stay in the box until I buy a new tool?  Lastly I have several packs of honing compound from other systems can I use these on the Tormek or is there a quality issue? Many thanks for taking the time to read this, and I look forward to your comments

jeffs55