News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

In Channel gouge

Started by tedn1, January 22, 2013, 04:11:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tedn1

Hello,

I'm just learning about Tormeks now. I have not yet purchased one.

I have a few questions:

1. Can a Tormek sharpen a chisel with an "in-channel" gouge? Meaning the bevel in on the inside of the chisel, not the outside.

2. If I were to buy the T-3 Tormek, could a put the bigger 50mm wheel on the machine, or would I not be able to do that? I have a hand planer that has a blade that is exactly 50mm in length, and I know that the T-7 has a 50mm wheel, but I'd prefer to not spend the extra 250 if I don't have to. But if I do, it'll be worthwhile, in the end I'm sure.

3. I know there are a lot of jigs out there for different chisels. I didn't see a jig for a chisel that is 1 inch in width. Is there such a thing?

4. Will the leather stropping wheel give you a mirror edge, or do you really need to get the Japanese water stone for that? If you do need the Japanese water stone, does it come in 50mm width?

5. Is there any threat of Tormek going out of business? I would hate to invest in this tool, and then find out that the company is going out of business, and I can't get parts for it any longer. That has happened with many of my tools, and it's really a pain when that happens. I worry about things like the leather stropping wheel, as this looks like a part that wears out frequently and needs to be replaced.

Thanks for your help!
Ted

Ken S

Hi, Ted.