News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

New T7 damaged wheel ?

Started by GeekGirl, August 04, 2012, 02:51:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GeekGirl

Hi all,

I have purchased a T7 I unpacked it yesterday, just pulled out the manuals and DVD. I watched the DVD and read the manual. All is good.

Today I unpacked the machine to set it up and found the Stone has a big chip out of it, it is (assuming wheel is mounted) ~42mm around the circumference, 17mm towards the centre  and 5mm across the grinding edge. If I was to use the truing tool, I would have to remove a thickness of 17mm to get the face back level.

I have posted a picture bellow, I guess this is a warranty return to the point of sale ?

Regards,

Kat.

"I am an Engineer, NOT an English Teacher, God damn it"
Moi, 1999

Herman Trivilino

Maybe if you call them or send this picture to they'll just send you a new one.  You could then keep this one and use it for very rough work.
Origin: Big Bang

GeekGirl

Caught up with the rep at the Perth Wood Show today, was given a new stone on the spot and asked to drop the damaged one back to my supplier when convenient (I will be there tomorrow).

Have had a play with sharpening chisels, the T7 is SO QUIET :), sharpens very well :), was quick too :) ( I managed to re read the manual, set it up and sharpen 8 chisels in ~2 hours (this included grinding off the existing micro bevel :) (as I can sharpen regularly with the T7 I do not need the micro bevel)

Kat.
Moi, 1999

Ken S

Kat,

Welcome to the forum.  I'm pleased the rep stood by the product and made it right. 

You are off to a great start with your chisels. In addition to having some sharp working tools, starting with chisels will also give you a feel for the Tormek and how it cuts.