News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Are microbevels necessary for bench chisels when you have a Tormek?

Started by Mooney755FM, June 29, 2018, 07:19:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mooney755FM

Hello,
I'm new to woodworking and I've been working on my chisel sharpening skills with the Tormek.  Question - is the primary reason people use a microbevel - they do not have to sharpen the entire face of the chisel?  Is it to save time?  I have read many threads on this topic and I do not agree that it preserve's the lifespan of the chisel - I only see it as a way to reduce the sharpening time - this becomes unnecessary with a Tormek - because it's so fast.  I've also read that it strengthens the cut of the chisel, but again I don't agree with that reasoning either.  What am I missing?

Curious to know what others do, thanks!
Tracy

Ken S

Welcome to the forum, Tracy.

The short answer is, No, micro bevels are not necessary with a Tormek. Microbevels are useful expedients for bench stone sharpeners. The idea is that you grind the entire bevel once and do touch up sharpenings with only a small fraction of the bevel. That is a good consideration for hand sharpening, but not necessary with the Tormek; the Tormek does the work. The other consideration is heat with the grinder. The thinner the edge, the less metal is present is present to draw away the heat. In other words, the closer you come to doing the whole sharpening with the grinder, the greater the danger of overheating the blade. Stopping just short of completion and finishing by hand lessens the overheating danger. Again, this is not necessary with the water cooled Tormek.