News:

Welcome to the Tormek Community. If you previously registered for the discussion board but had not made any posts, your membership may have been purged. Secure your membership in this community by joining in the conversations.
www.tormek.com

Main Menu

Lawmower Blades

Started by drentschler, November 30, 2009, 03:30:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

drentschler

Can the Tormek be used to sharpen lawnmower blades and what other type of industrial related blades can it sharpen?  I looking to see what uses it might have in industry.

Thank you.

Dave

Herman Trivilino

I've been using my Tormek to sharpen mower blades for many years now.  The nice thing is that I can experiment with the bevel angle.  If the angle's too sharp, the edge folds over.  If the angle's too blunt, the blades of grass don't get sheared off cleanly.  The mark of a sharp mower blade is that the blades of grass are sliced off cleanly, with no ragged edges.  I guess that the quality of the steel has a lot to do with how sharp you can make the angle, and have it hold up without folding over.

Things with nice straight edges are ideal for sharpening with the Tormek.  Chisels and plane irons are the easiest to sharpen.  Scissors, too.  With a little practice, a person can learn to sharpen these like a pro.  In fact, when I buy a new chisel or mower blade, the first thing I do is sharpen it with my Tormek.  I can get a smoother sharper edge than the factory edge.

Hardcore woodworkers love them for sharpening the gouges they use with their lathes, and their carving tools, too.  These objects don't have nice straight edges, but Tormek provides jigs that solve that problem.

Paint scrapers are easy to touch up with the Tormek.  Having a nice square edge on the scraper makes the job so much easier. 
Origin: Big Bang

Jeff Farris

Dave,